

Minutes

Special Council Meeting
19 October 2021 at 5.30pm

Approved for release
Michelle Reynolds
Chief Executive Officer

Minutes to be confirmed at the next Ordinary Council Me	eting
---	-------

These minutes are hereby certified as confirmed.

Presiding member's signature _		Date	
--------------------------------	--	------	--

Information

This information is provided on matters which may affect members of the public. If you have any queries on procedural matters, please contact a member of the City's Governance team via governance@cityofperth.wa.gov.au

Disclaimer

Members of the public should note that in any discussion during a meeting regarding any item, a statement or indication of approval by any council member, committee member or officer of the City is not intended to be, and should not be taken as, notice of approval from the City. No action should be taken on any item discussed at a meeting of Council prior to written advice on the Committee or Council's resolution being received.

Any plans or documents contained in these minutes may be subject to copyright law provisions (*Copyright Act 1968*, as amended) and the express permission of the copyright owner(s) should be sought prior to their reproduction.

Table of Contents

Declaration of Opening	4
Attendance	
3.1 Apologies	5
3.2 Approved Leave of Absence	
Disclosures of Interests	5
Public Participation	5
5.1 Public Questions	5
Election of Deputy Lord Mayor	5
	3.1 Apologies

1. Declaration of Opening

The Presiding Member declared the Special Council Meeting for the City of Perth open at 5.30pm.

2. Acknowledgement of Country/Prayer

The Presiding Member gave an Acknowledgement of Country:

I respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which we meet, the Whadjuk Nyoongar people of Western Australia, and pay my respects to Elders past and present. It is a privilege to be on Whadjuk Nyoongar country.

The Chief Executive Officer recited a prayer:

Almighty God, under whose providence we hold responsibility for this City grant us wisdom to understand its present needs, foresight to anticipate its future growth, and grace to serve our fellow citizens with integrity and selfless devotion. And to Thee, be all blessing and glory forever. Amen.

3. Attendance

Elected members in attendance

Lord Mayor Basil Zempilas (Presiding Member)

Councillors Sandy Anghie

Di Bain

Clyde Bevan Brent Fleeton Liam Gobbert Rebecca Gordon

Viktor Ko

Catherine Lezer

Officers in attendance

Chief Executive Officer Michelle Reynolds
General Manager Community Development Kylie Johnson
General Manager Infrastructure and Operations Allan Mason
Acting General Manager Corporate Services Bronwyn Rose
Acting General Manager Planning and Economic Development Daniel High
Acting Manager Executive Services Danielle Uniza
Project Director Strategic Finance Michael Kent

Acting Alliance Manager Governance Siobhan Rippington

Election CoordinatorLiam O'NeillGovernance CoordinatorMieke WeversCouncil Support OfficerPaul Anastas

Public gallery

There were five staff members in attendance and no members of the public or media representatives present.

3.1 Apologies

Nil.

3.2 Approved Leave of Absence

Nil.

4. Disclosures of Interests

Nil.

5. Public Participation

5.1 Public Questions

Nil.

6. Election of Deputy Lord Mayor

The election of the Deputy Lord Mayor was held in accordance with Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act* 1995 and the Lord Mayor advised of the procedure for the election.

Three nominations were received in writing, as follows:

- 1. Councillor Anghie who accepted her nomination from Councillor Bevan
- 2. Councillor Bain who accepted her nomination from Councillor Fleeton
- 3. Councillor Lezer who nominated herself.

Councillor Lezer subsequently withdrew her nomination.

Ballot papers were prepared with the nominees' names appearing in alphabetical order and handed to each elected member.

The ballot papers were collected and the Election Coordinator announced the votes as follows:

- 1. Councillor Anghie four votes
- 2. Councillor Bain five votes

The Lord Mayor announced that Councillor Bain was the successful candidate with five total votes and was therefore elected to the position of Deputy Lord Mayor for a term ending at the first Council meeting after the next Ordinary Election.

Councillor Di Bain was sworn into the position of Deputy Lord Mayor by the Lord Mayor.

The Lord Mayor thanked Councillor Sandy Anghie for her service in the role of the Deputy Lord Mayor for the preceding 12 months in office.

7. Reports

Nil.

8. Closure

The Presiding Member declared the meeting closed at 5.39pm.