

# Minutes

Special Council Meeting
19 October 2021 at 4.00pm

Approved for release
Michelle Reynolds
Chief Executive Officer

Minutes to be confirmed at the next Ordinary Council Meeting

These minutes are hereby certified as confirmed.

Presiding member's signature \_\_\_\_\_ Date \_\_\_\_

#### Information

This information is provided on matters which may affect members of the public. If you have any queries on procedural matters, please contact a member of the City's Governance team via governance@cityofperth.wa.gov.au

## Disclaimer

Members of the public should note that in any discussion during a meeting regarding any item, a statement or indication of approval by any council member, committee member or officer of the City is not intended to be, and should not be taken as, notice of approval from the City. No action should be taken on any item discussed at a meeting of Council prior to written advice on the Committee or Council's resolution being received.

Any plans or documents contained in these minutes may be subject to copyright law provisions (*Copyright Act 1968*, as amended) and the express permission of the copyright owner(s) should be sought prior to their reproduction.

# **Table of Contents**

1.	Declaration of Opening	4
	Acknowledgement of Country/Prayer	
	Assignment of Councillor Seating	
4.	Attendance	4
	4.1 Apologies	5
	4.2 Approved Leave of Absence	
5.	Disclosures of Interests	. 5
6.	Public Participation	5
	6.1 Public Questions	
7.	Election of a Deputy Lord Mayor	. 5
	Reports	
	Closure	

#### 1. Declaration of Opening

The Presiding Member declared the Special Council Meeting for the City of Perth open at 4.12pm.

## 2. Acknowledgement of Country/Prayer

The Presiding Member gave an Acknowledgement of Country:

I respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which we meet, the Whadjuk Nyoongar people of Western Australia, and pay my respects to Elders past and present. It is a privilege to be on Whadjuk Nyoongar country.

The Chief Executive Officer recited a prayer:

Almighty God, under whose providence we hold responsibility for this City grant us wisdom to understand its present needs, foresight to anticipate its future growth, and grace to serve our fellow citizens with integrity and selfless devotion. And to Thee, be all blessing and glory forever. Amen.

## 3. Assignment of Councillor Seating

In accordance with the Clause 7.2(2) of the *Standing Orders Local Law 2009*, the Chief Executive Officer assigned seats for each Councillor by random draw. Each Councillor will occupy their allocated seat when present at Council meetings, as follows:

- Seat 1 Councillor Gobbert
- Seat 2 Councillor Anghie
- Seat 3 Councillor Ko
- Seat 4 Councillor Lezer
- Seat 5 Councillor Fleeton
- Seat 6 Councillor Gordon
- Seat 7 Councillor Bevan
- Seat 8 Councillor Bain

#### 4. Attendance

#### Elected members in attendance

Lord Mayor Basil Zempilas (Presiding Member)

Councillors Sandy Anghie

Di Bain

Clyde Bevan Brent Fleeton Liam Gobbert Rebecca Gordon

Viktor Ko

Catherine Lezer

Daniel High

#### Officers in attendance

Chief Executive Officer Michelle Reynolds

General Manager Community Development Kylie Johnson
General Manager Infrastructure and Operations Allan Mason
Acting General Manager Corporate Services Bronwyn Rose

Acting General Manager Planning and Economic Development

Acting Executive Services Manager Danielle Uniza Project Director Strategic Finance Michael Kent

Acting Alliance Manager Governance Siobhan Rippington

Election Coordinator

Governance Coordinator

Council Support Officer

Liam O'Neill

Mieke Wevers

Paul Anastas

#### Public gallery

There were four members of the public, five staff and no media representatives present.

## 4.1 Apologies

Nil.

## 4.2 Approved Leave of Absence

Nil.

#### 5. Disclosures of Interests

Nil.

## 6. Public Participation

#### 6.1 Public Questions

Nil.

## 7. Election of a Deputy Lord Mayor

The election of the Deputy Lord Mayor was held in accordance with Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act* 1995 and the Lord Mayor advised of the procedure for the election.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that three nominations were received in writing, as follows:

- 1. Councillor Anghie who accepted her nomination from Councillor Bevan
- 2. Councillor Bain who accepted her nomination from Councillor Fleeton
- 3. Councillor Lezer who nominated herself.

Ballot papers were prepared with the nominees' names appearing in alphabetical order and handed to each elected member.

The ballot papers were collected and the Election Coordinator announced the votes as follows:

- 1. Councillor Anghie four votes
- 2. Councillor Bain five votes
- 3. Councillor Lezer one vote

The Lord Mayor moved a procedural motion, as follows:

#### Council Resolution

**Mover** Lord Mayor Zempilas

Seconder Councillor Ko

That the meeting be adjourned for 10 minutes.

CARRIED UNOPPOSED (9/0)

For Lord Mayor Zempilas, Councillors Anghie, Bain, Bevan, Fleeton, Gobbert, Gordon, Ko and Lezer

**Against** None

4.23pm The meeting adjourned.

4.33pm The meeting resumed.

At the resumption of the meeting, the Lord Mayor advised that due to a tied result, a Special Council Meeting would be required to held so that the election for Deputy Lord Mayor can be conducted again. The Lord Mayor subsequently moved the following:

#### Council Resolution

Mover Lord Mayor Zempilas Seconder Councillor Gordon

That a Special Council Meeting be held on Tuesday, 19 October 2021 at 5.30pm for the purpose of electing a Deputy Lord Mayor.

CARRIED (7/2)

**For** Lord Mayor Zempilas, Councillors Bain, Bevan, Fleeton, Gobbert, Gordon and Ko.

**Against** Councillors Anghie and Lezer

# 8. Reports

Nil.

## 9. Closure

The Presiding Member declared the meeting closed at 4.36pm.