

# Minutes

Special Council Meeting 20 October 2020

Approved for release Michelle Reynolds Chief Executive Officer 28 October 2020

Minutes to be confirmed at the next Ordinary Council Meeting

These minutes are hereby certified as confirmed.

Presiding member's signature \_\_\_\_\_

Date \_\_\_\_\_

## Table of Contents

1.	Declaration of opening	3
2.	Acknowledgement of Country/Prayer	. 3
3.	Assignment of Councillor seating	. 3
4.	Attendance	4
5.	Public Participation	. 5
	5.1 Public Questions	. 5
	5.2 Deputations	. 5
6.	Disclosures of Interests	. 5
7.	Election of the Deputy Lord Mayor	. 5
8.	Closure	6

## 1. Declaration of opening

The Lord Mayor declared the meeting open at 9.04am.

## 2. Acknowledgement of Country/Prayer

#### Acknowledgement of Country

The Lord Mayor read the acknowledgement of country:

I respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which we meet, the Whadjuk (Whad-juk) Nyoongar people of Western Australia, and pay my respects to Elders past and present. It is a privilege to be standing on Whadjuk Nyoongar country.

#### Prayer

The Chief Executive Officer read the prayer:

Almighty God, under whose providence we hold responsibility for this City grant us wisdom to understand its present needs, foresight to anticipate its future growth, and grace to serve our fellow citizens with integrity and selfless devotion. And to Thee, be all blessing and glory forever. Amen.

## 3. Assignment of Councillor seating

In accordance with section 7.2(2) of the *Standing Orders Local Law 2009,* the Chief Executive Officer allotted assigned seats to each Councillor by way of random draw.

Seat 1 was assigned to Councillor Bevan Seat 2 was assigned to Councillor Ko Seat 3 was assigned to Councillor Bain Seat 4 was assigned to Councillor Gordon Seat 5 was assigned to Councillor Lezer Seat 6 was assigned to Councillor Fleeton Seat 7 was assigned to Councillor Gobbert

Seat 8 was assigned to Councillor Anghie

Each Councillor will now occupy that seat when present at meetings.

## 4. Attendance

Elected members in attendance

Lord Mayor	Basil Zempilas (Presiding Member)
Councillors	Sandy Anghie
	Clyde Bevan
	Brent Fleeton
	Liam Gobbert
	Rebecca Gordon
	Viktor Ko
	Catherine Lezer

## Apology

#### Councillor

Di Bain

#### Officers in attendance

Chief Executive Officer	Michelle Reynolds
General Manager Corporate Services	Bill Parker
General Manager Planning and Economic Development	Jayson Miragliotta
General Manager Community Development	Anne Banks-McAllister
General Manager Infrastructure and Operations	Chris Kopec
Project Director Strategic Finance (CFO)	Michael Kent
Alliance Manager Executive Services	Kylie Johnson
Alliance Manager Governance	Danielle Uniza
Governance Coordinator	Siobhan Rippington
Governance Officer	Sophie Morrison
Minute Secretary	Ashlee Rutigliano

## 5. Public Participation

5.1 Public Questions

#### Steven Satchell, 13 Wyncroft Street, Scarborough WA 6019

- Q For forty odd years, the Perth City Council Mayors have been associated with the taxi industry. I hope that continues. A review of taxi ranks has currently been in place for four years, we would like some conclusion. In particular, we are concerned about any on-demand transport vying for positions on all the taxi ranks in the city.
- A The Chief Executive Officer advised the question will be taken on notice and published in the next Ordinary Council Meeting agenda.
- 5.2 Deputations

Nil

#### 6. Disclosures of Interests

Nil

## 7. Election of the Deputy Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor advised the procedure for the election was displayed on the screen.

The procedure outlined below is in accordance with Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act 1995*.

- a. Nominations are to be given to the CEO in writing before the meeting or during the meeting before the close of nominations.
- b. At the meeting, the CEO will be the person conducting the election.
- c. At the close of nominations, the CEO will announce the nominees for Deputy Lord Mayor.
- d. Any person nominated must orally, or in writing, state that he or she is willing to be nominated.
- e. Once the nominees have been confirmed, the CEO will issue ballot papers for the purpose of conducting a secret ballot, should there be more than one nominee.
- f. The names of the candidates are to appear on the ballot paper in alphabetical order by surname.
- g. Once all votes are cast, the votes will be counted, and the CEO will announce the successful candidate.
- h. Should there be a tie, the election will need to be reconducted at a Special Council Meeting to be held within 7 days.

In accordance with Schedule 2.3, Division 2, Clause 8(3a) of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the Chief Executive Officer declared the nomination period for Deputy Lord Mayor closed at the meeting. Four nominations were received for three nominees.

The Chief Executive Officer read aloud a nomination for Councillor Anghie who accepted. The Chief Executive Officer read aloud a nomination for Councillor Gobbert who accepted. The Chief Executive Officer read aloud a nomination for Councillor Lezer who accepted. With all nominations being accepted, the ballot papers were prepared with the nominee's names appearing in alphabetical order and handed to each elected member.

Councillor Gordon spoke to her nomination of Councillor Gobbert for Deputy Lord Mayor.

Following the receipt of ballot papers, the Chief Executive Officer stated, as Returning Officer for the election of the Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Perth, declared that from the candidates nominated:

Councillor Anghie Councillor Gobbert Councillor Lezer

Councillor Anghie was the successful candidate with five total votes received in favour of appointment and therefore elected to the position of Deputy Lord Mayor for a term ending at the next Council Meeting following the 16 October 2021 Ordinary Election.

The Lord Mayor asked Councillor Anghie to make her declaration as Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Perth.

#### 8. Closure

There being no further business, the Lord Mayor declared the meeting closed at 9.21am.